The settlement in the archeological ruin in Huchuy Qusqo dates back to between 1000 and 1400 e. c. In the early 1400s, according to the Spanish chronicler Pedro Cieza de León, it became a real property of the semi-mythical Viracocha (c. 1410-1438), the eighth Inca ruler.
Among a large number of buildings, some of stone, some of adobe, are a Kallanka (large hall), 40 m long. The water supply to the site is an irrigation canal built by the Incas, lined with stones along some 800 m.
There is an Inca wall and agricultural terrace (platform). The Spanish took control of Huchuy Qosqo in the 1500s, after the Inca Revolution of Manco (approximately 1540) and used the site as a farm. The Incas had built several small reservoirs for irrigation. During their stay in Huchuy Qosqo, the Spanish demolished some other Inca structures to build the largest reservoir seen today.
Below the main site of Huchuy Qosqo are the recently restored qolqas stores for dried meats and crops such as corn, potatoes, quinoa and beans. In this two-story structure, you can see the historic refrigeration storage system known as “rabbit hutch”.
This site is inaccessible by public roads and can only be accessed on foot or by horse. The two main access points on foot are from Lamay: 3 hours to a series of sharp curves, or from Tauca, about 4 to 6 hours on foot.